Loving Vincent (12)

Loving Vincent

‘I should one day like to show by my work what such an eccentric, such a nobody, has in his heart.’

Vincent Van Gogh has been my favourite artist since the ever so brilliant episode of Doctor Who (Vincent and the Doctor) which was just so heartfelt and amazing and remains one of my favourite episodes to date. Starry Night by Van Gogh is also my most favourite painting, in fact it’s my only favourite painting. Mark my words, one day I will make it to New York and see it in person. Now I’ve given you the backstory necessary to bulk out this review (I joke….or do I?) you can see why I looked forward to this film. 

You may have heard about it as every frame, every millisecond was painstakingly hand-painted in the style of Van Gogh by a team of artists. Every character, every actor, inspired and chosen by Van Gogh’s life and/or paintings.

Following Vincent’s suicide, Armand Roulin is tasked with delivering Vincent’s last letter to the recipient, Vincent’s brother. On embarking on this task, Roulin meets a number of people who knew Vincent and begins to piece together the possible real cause of death, suicide or murder? A fact no one knows for sure nowadays.

First of all the style of this film was amazing, each scene so detailed and vibrant. The one downside could perhaps be that the plot is fairly simple so it kinda boring at times but once again this is made up for by the incredible artistry it took to create this film. I was always going to love this film from the minute I saw the trailer. The best part of the whole film was the ending, so raw and heartfelt, you felt that you to had known the loving Vincent.

Despite the simple plot this film still deserves a watch. 9/10

Leave a comment